Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

First Snow of 2015

The snow started falling about 3:55 AM. By the time I got on the road at 4:30 AM, the roads were already covered.  My 10 mile commute took me about 25 minutes (10 minutes longer than normal).  

My co-workers who started out after 5:30 AM had anywhere from 90 minute - 3 hour commutes ranging 8 - 15 miles.  Many baled out after a couple of hours and turned around and went home.  

Apparently the Department of Transportation trusted the weather forecasters so much (predicted about an inch of snow), that they decided not to pre-treat roads.  We got more than predicted and major roads turned into ice skating rinks. As a result of the lack of pre-treatment, there were 230+ accidents in the area(possibly an all time record).  To top that off, some school systems didn't close and children stood outside for hours in 20 - 25 degree temps waiting for buses that were delayed or never showed.   

My day was busy because so many people couldn't make it in.  But I think I'll take my day over multi-hour commutes and standing outside in the freezing cold.  

BTW - I didn't get a chance to blip until late and the big lens does not do well after dusk.  A little noisy and not as clear as I wanted but this shot of a female cardinal outside my kitchen window will have to do.  

Have a great night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.