Barman's Blips

By barman58

Natural Alarm Clock

Before last Christmas I decided to install a feeder in my yard at home, now this yard is enclosed on three sides and in the middle of an estate, so hopes were not high.

Finally in the last few days I have started to receive visits from the local starlings, not the most exotic of birds but one that is struggling in the UK due to changes in farming methods that result in the lack of suitable habitat, and waste grain.

Of course when you actually take time to look at a starling, you see quite a stunning bird, with amazing colours, and a metallic sheen. Incidentally you can tell the sex of a starling from colour - the base of the bill is Blue for Boys and Pink for Girls, rather appropriate I think

I now have an automatic early morning call as the birds bring the kids for breakfast, as can be seen from today's image

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.