From the North

By Tawastian

Five years later / The turning point

So, here I am after uploading a photo a day everyday for five years. I apologise for not being very active lately and for uploading iPhone crap only; since I left to Germany in September, it's been totally busy times. This is actually the second photo taken with my DSLR since last September.

However, it's been a wonderful time here in Germany. When I left here, I left with an open mind. One of the reasons which made me to leave was that I didn't really know what to do with my life; what to study and where I'd like to work in the future. Of course, I have a student place at the University of Turku, but that's just because you "should have" such place.

At any rate, I think I've finally perceived what I'd like to do in the future. School wasn't very helpful with that, and it was one of the top places to grow bored of things. For long, I believed I should take up art and perhaps some languages just because I'm able to learn them such easily. I simply suppressed the mathematical and logical sides of myself, because during my grade school times I was told I'll never become anything. Some jealous people may affect a lot of sustained damage, you know.

Naturally, it is difficult to think about all the possibilities when you're locked inside a box in your head. I broke away from that box years ago, but it was so bright and new I didn't know where to start from: so I just wandered here, there and everywhere.

After finishing high school I went to work, then joined the Army and later the Navy. After that I went to work again and last September I left to Germany. During my working and military times I discovered a high interest in mechanics and heavy industry. In addition, because I've always wanted to fly, I found out what'll be my goal: to become an aircraft engineer. Or just an engineer at least - and that's what I start to pursue.

After all, there's one more thing I'd like to tell you: I never thought there'd be a suitable counterpart for me. I possess some unusual features, which make it supremely difficult to fit the so-called "normal standards". Still, it happened: I met a man with corresponding intelligence, attitude, values and dreams despite my own hidebound expectations. It seems that being goal-directed matters the most. Just one of the reasons why we are planning a shared future.

All in all, I'd like to thank you all for these five years, for all the kind comments and for all the views. It's been an absolute honour this far and I aim to continue blipping as long as it's possible. May the journey continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.