In That Moment

By Jamnik

Let Me Be

let me be now
oh let me be cause
i want to be free now
oh free to see the world
i want to walk away
oh let me feel my feet
let me be free


-xavier rudd





[uninhibited]


it could be said that i'm growing an army of little environmentalists.
17 of them, in fact.
my little 4th and 5th graders never cease to amaze me.
today their passion for cleaning the earth not only equaled but surpassed my own.
we spent a glorious morning talking about endangered species, invasive species, the food chain, and recycling (to name just a few topics). it was so unbelievably lovely to conduct a discussion as a lead teacher, following the kid's interests (which happen to mirror my own), and feel like they actually got something out of it.
one little girl started a revolution.
we are making an appointment, this girl, myself, and another student, to meet with the principle and enact plans for making this school a green zone. hopefully we will be implementing a recycling program within the month, and a pop can fundraiser for playground equipment within the year. oh, the good things to come.
i can't wait to see where this goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.