By Himself

By Himself

My father's brush roll

Looking for something to do for indoor playtime on a wild wet day, I decided to do another test with the new old Pentax 35mm lens I found in Bristol for £5. It has not done a bad job edge-to-edge but I have had to add quite a bit of sharpening and contrast.

This is my late father's brush roll - a blue felt roll I keep more or less as he left it. There are some interesting items - on the far right an artist's blending stump, used with charcoal and pastel, a carpenter's pencil and then a Cow Gum spreader - an essential tool for layout work. 

My father was a 'commercial artist' (would be a graphic designer today) and created packaging for toys. (I believe the link show his work but I may be wrong). I worked with him for a brief time and this leaflet is all I can find that I worked on and I came to hate dislike the picture of that little boy.

There are some well used sable and other brushes there and he would sharpen the ends of some to scratch out lines and mistakes. The packaging artwork was all prepared 'half up' (1.5 times the finished size) and painted entirely by hand until Letraset came along. It was then taken to the printers to be colour separated to make the printing plates and I can recall that he always found that part stressful because the results were not always satisfactory and had to be sent back and printers were not always the easiest people to get on with.

Derelict Thursday
A reminder that SarumStroller's popular Derelict Thursday challenge is back this Thursday - see my post from yesterday for tips about tagging your entries. He is away from an internet connection for a while but will be back to 'judge' the entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.