PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Portrait Project Week 1

So.

I've come to the conclusion that I need to push my portraiture somehow. I have the corporate/biz social networking portrait schtick down now, but I need something more.

I've been mulling over the idea that a good way to do that might be to aim to do one /good/ crafted portrait a week. I don't want to churn them out. I want to plan them, and execute each one as well as I possibly can in the time I have. No pressure to create something that a client might like. It's all to push my skills onwards.

Week 1 is obviously a selfie, and is a statement, I guess, of where I am now*. Maybe one idea might be to finish on Week 52, with another selfie which demonstrates how far I've gone in the intervening year.

The other part of the idea, is that I at least /try/ to make each portrait of someone different. I start with me and move out through family, friends, eventually (hopefully) to interesting people I happen to meet.

I've always had an admiration of those great blippers who can approach people at will. I think that's my biggest hurdle. One I want to overcome.

So, we'll see. It might last one week. It might just last the year. I've learnt over the years that if I tell folk that I'm doing it, that I'm far less likely to give up.

Keep me honest, blippers. =)

* and possibly how grumpy, for no reason, I am today. I always look grumpy in my selfies. Another thing I need to change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.