The Hood.

Many years ago I used to live in the shadow of the 'Banana Flats', as they are known locally. I was initially terrified of the wierd banshee noises that would emanate from within one flat and shatter the nights silence, but I eventually got used to it and, not long after, they suddenly stopped, possibly along with the heartbeat of the perpetrator.
There was a certain Big Man who, if the rumours were correct, would happily stop the heartbeat of anyone who stood in his way. I would quite often find myself in the same newsagent as him and I would actually feel my sphincter loosen invlountarily as I purposefully folded my Guardian newspaper to hide the front page.
Not the most contented days of my life, but I wouldn't swap them. My moments standing alongside the Big Man changed a cog in my brain forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.