Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Positive image

Of yesterdays negative.
I was right, it is my father Frederick Allan Hamilton in chair on right. Not sure what he's doing.I thought pulling his jersey out but then he may be holding a pinny up as there are tails dangling down.
His mother Isabelle Hamilton nee Porter on left. It depends on the year this was taken which child she has on her lap, she had eight, my father being her second born.
If it is 1909 then the child on her lap could be Isla who died in 1909 and we don't have a photo of her. She was eighteen months old when she died, My father would be 10 as he was born 1899. But he looks older here so maybe it is the next child and the year is 1910 or 12.
The young man on the left back is Dan Shallcrass who married the young woman in the middle lying in front. That event was after he had served in WW1. The girl to her left may be a sister but I don't know the other two. The males look like they have on the females hats.
They will be at their bach up the Maitai River in Nelson, NZ. Isabelles husband was a director of Buxtons, a mercantile business set up by his father who had emigrated here in 1861 from Rochester, NY, USA.
The family home was in Nelson city but he believed in having a place where they could go to get away from business and relax and the children could swim, hunt and bring their friends along.
It is possibly grandfather Frederick Orton Hamilton who took the photo.
Once I had this photo in the editing programme I used the Negative button to change it to a positive image. I used contrast and gamma and put the saturation right down. I cloned one black dot out of an eye otherwise it is as is.
Now to look at the others and see who may be there.
I mention family names because that is what a genealogist does in the hope one of you out there is related.:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.