Homemade Tortillas

I've been eating Mexican food my entire life. I grew up near the Mexican border and spent many vacations in Mexico. We went to tortilla factories and, tortillas hot off the grill, are so delicious. I don't know why I never took on the challenge of making my own. 

I invested in a tortilla press yesterday. I wondered when I bought it whether it would be a future garage sale item. I took the plunge, bought the press and mixed up my own masa today. 

Dakota helped me by pressing the tortillas and I grilled them in my iron skillet. Were they perfect? Nope. I think I'd like them to be a tad bit thinner. Were they delicious? Yes! they tasted like corn.They had taste which I think is a big departure from what you buy in the store.

I'll be making tortillas again.

And, in case you wondered.. my tortilla filling here was non-traditional. Chicken, onions and kale with a sauce of sorrel, lime juice and yogurt. Trying to be healthy even though it's Mexican food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.