People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Shadow of the Wind

Ever since I started grad school, I stopped reading fiction. Not by choice; I simply have a large back-log of non-fiction stuff I should read and know while I am in the midst of studies. I miss them, though, the novels that have the power to pull you in, and make you forget about where and when you are.

One of my favorite novels of all time is The Shadow of the Wind  by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It is about a mysterious book, a tormented writer, murder, madness, jealousy, love, hate, revenge, and finally, forgiveness and transcendence. The location is as much of a main character as the people whose stories we watch unravel. Barcelona arises from the pages, Barcelona of 1945, much of which still stands today. 

My Barcelona in the image arises from the novel inside the light box HD and LM made for me for Christmas. I have a lot to learn about how to best use it; it will be fun! If I were to truly show Barcelona emerging from the book, I would have the diorama pieces rip through the cover...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.