The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Langkawi

I definitely wasn't ready to leave Penang but I'd already booked flights in order to sort out my visa for Vietnam. Normally I don't like setting any of my plans in stone for more than a couple of days ahead. I do lots of research and planning, but being flexible is important. It's previously allowed me to stay longer than I expected in some of my favourite places, such as Pai and Kampot. Unfortunately Vietnam have a frustratingly archaic visa system unlike all of the other countries I'm visiting. You have to plan ahead, commit to an arrival date and pay a lot of money for the privilege.

Anyway... I caught the 8.30am ferry to Langkawi and was greeted on arrival by my friend Claire from back home, along with her boyfriend Adam. She's the first in what I hope will be many familiar faces I cross paths with on my trip. They kindly picked me up in their rental car and we drove to the Durian waterfall for a quick dip before heading to the beach.

We managed to get a few hours' worth of sunshine before we watched the storms creep towards us across the sea and put an end to our fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.