FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Talking gardening

I donned my wellies at work this afternoon for a visit from BBC Radio Kent's Sunday Gardening presenter Andy Garland who came along to interview Sam, one of the Leeds Castle Gardeners, on frost protection.

It's always lovely to chat to the Castle gardeners no matter what the weather, especially this afternoon when the rain stopped and the sun shone as we did the interview just before sunset.

This is one of several interviews I've worked on with Sam and the gardening team since working at Leeds Castle. Despite protests of nerves at the first interview I did with Sam for a German gardening TV show back in May, her ease with the microphone and extensive knowledge of gardening always makes for a great interview. In fact, I've secretly nicknamed her 'one-take Charlie'. Watch out Charlie Dimmock!

Over the coming weeks the snowdrops will start to bloom in the Culpeper Garden, which is designed in an English cottage garden style and features a magical looking Wisteria tree that I almost expect to start moving!

On the pathway down to the Mediterranean Garden there's a lovely plant starting to flower called Daphne bolua with a beautiful fragance. Sam pointed this out this afternoon reminding me that I learn something new and interesting about gardening every time we talk!

I look forward to watching the garden evolve over the next few weeks and will be returning to the Castle as a visitor after my PR contract ends to chat to my gardening friends.

Tune into Sunday Gardening on BBC Radio Kent from 8 to 11am this Sunday. Sam's interview goes out at 930am.

bbc.co.uk/kent 96.7 / 104.2 FM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.