Peahen

By Peahen

This is John.

This morning was dark, in all sorts of ways. Waking up to a world changed yet again by atrocity. On a far far smaller scale, a decidedly bleak school run with wind and heavy rain. I needed to pick up some groceries from Lidl on the way back, and pulled into the car-park (you know it's a bad day when I drive the school run) to see someone in a bright yellow RNLI jacket collecting in Lidl.

Having grown up in Cornwall, the RNLI matters to me. The courage and skill of their volunteers is amazing. It was reassuring on such a dark morning to see that bright jacket and to be reminded of the skill, dedication, sacrifice and bravery of all the people who put themselves in harms way to keep us safe. Thank you all.

I had the pleasure of talking to John for a couple of minutes, and asked permission to take a portrait. It was a little cheeky as I'd already taken a couple outside the store (see here for another one that was very nearly today's photo). I wanted a shot from the back, showing those fantastic jacket colours against the Lidl blue and yellow background, but he turned around and I liked this portrait so much that I'm posting it for my daily picture today. Follow the link above to get a bigger picture with more of a story. Stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.