The Way I See Things

By JDO

High House Farm

I've been fascinated by this derelict farm since I first drove past it many years ago. It's just outside Mappleborough Green, which is a rather wealthy Worcestershire village on one of the main roads to Birmingham, and has always looked to me to be "ripe for redevelopment". In fact, when I pulled in to the bellmouth of the driveway today and got out of the car with my camera, I could see that someone has started to convert a large barn on the site - the brickwork has been patched, and a new roof with Velux windows has gone on - but there's no sign of recent activity, and it rather looks as though the project has been put on hold. There is also a large farm house (the rear wing of which can be seen here) and some other barns and outbuildings, most of which are clearly in a pretty ruinous state.

A quick web search shows up a number of planning applications for the site over the past few years - including one in 2013 to demolish the house and replace it with new residential units, which was refused. My photo was taken from the safe (and legal) side of the security gate, but judging by this piece of film, which was shot by a much braver person than me, it won't be too long till it falls down on its own.

This is my entry for SarumStroller's Derelict Thursday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.