Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

Derelict Thursday: RIP the Priory? (365 mono #141)

The Priory was the closest pub to the Kassam Stadium - home to Oxford United Football Club (OUFC).  It is now closed a derelict.  Building works are going on to the rear.  I imagine they are waiting for the building to crumble so that they can demolish as it looks like it might be a listed building.

When it was open (last football season), the pub used to be home to the OUFC fans.  Apart from this, I'm not sure that anybody ever went in there.  I was always surprised by this since it is within a stones throw of the Oxford Science Park and there is no other pub anywhere close.  However, it never looked particularly inviting and so I must confess that I never passed its threshold.

This post to the OUFC forum gives a bit more info around the downfall of The Priory.

http://yellowsforum.co.uk/thread/13395


Taken with my LensBaby Composer Pro with Sweet35 optic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.