Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Worries of weather and whereabouts

The winter-weather continues here in Akureyri.  Now the snow has turned into ice and all streets and pavements are very slippery.  I was lucky not to end up under my car when I lost my balance on the ice-covered parking lot outside my house - with shopping bags in both hands!  Luckily no bones were broken, just a bit sore on my right knee.  I'd probably loose my mind if I broke a limb after my experience last year.

The afternoon was supposed to be quiet, which would be nice after a busy day at work.  I made coffee and spent an hour online answering a survey from The Directorate of Health about the health and lifestyle of Icelanders.  Lots of interesting questions and information I had to gather to be able to answer them.  Now I know, for example, I spent almost ISK 150.000  / £ 760 on 44 sessions of physiotherapy last year.

But I might have a problem falling asleep tonight because my mind has been racing after I talked to two policemen who came and asked about a man living upstairs.  Turns out that a woman had also knocked on our door yesterday and asked my son about this same man and now I'm told he's "missing"...well, at least he's not answering his phone or the door.  I must admit I'm rather worried.  I haven't heard footsteps or anything from his side of the house, but there was a light on in his living-room when I looked up to check his windows...?!  Roughly two years ago a young woman was living in this same apartment and she took her own life, so I immediately thought of her when the police were here asking about the whereabouts of this man.  Quite disturbing. But I hope he's OK and there's just a normal explanation for his disappearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.