Click Click Redemption

By Seoirseo

Selfie-Inflicted

Ouch and then again, Ouch!

A very bizarre morning. I was sat at my computer beavering away on a translation I had to do, with a bowl of porridge beside me for breakfast.

Then, I started to feel tired and very strange. By strange, I mean that I felt like I was dreaming while I was awake. Random odd, odd thoughts kept popping into my head that I immediately couldn't remember. And I felt a rush of anxiety like a kid waiting to see the headmaster for something they're not quite sure they've done! Like a sense of impending dread.

So I got up from my desk and headed out to the living room (working from home) for some fresh air to clear my head. Still feeling out of sorts, but not as much, I headed back to my desk.

It was only then that I noticed that my bowl of porridge was lying spilled on the floor and the bowl smashed to pieces. Only then did I notice some stone like material in my mouth and immediately knew something very strange had happened. I went into the bathroom looked in the mirror and was astonished to see my 2 front teeth had been chipped, a cut on my eyebrow and the rapidly swelling bump on my forehead!

Needless to say I'd fainted and passed out and even now I don't know exactly what happened. About 5 - 10 minutes, maybe longer seem to have completely disappeared. When I looked at the translating I had been doing I had no recollection of actually doing what I had done.

When I sent the 2 bottom mobile snaps to Sandra she immediately went into freaked-out overdrive, came home, packed me off to the doctors and then on to the dentist for a spot of molar reconstruction.

I wouldn't have done a thing about it if I'm honest, just shrugged and marked it down as just one of those things. Today (the following day) I'm very grateful for the care she showed me, I'm very lucky to have her watching out for me.  

Anyway, as a consequence of all this I have to go for blood tests tomorrow to see what any underlying causes, if any, might be. And the visit to the dentist also revealed 3 bloody fillings that now will need attending to as well. Oh ya beauty! 

What a superb start to my year. But in light of the horrendous events which occurred in Paris on this date, I won't grumble too much.

Fuck fundamentalism and extremism of all kinds. Fuck intolerance. Fuck the inability of some to let others live in peace.

Events like the senseless murder at Charlie Hebdo's offices only serve to ratchet up the hatred that exists at the lunatic fringes of all beliefs. Already, the inevitable reports of a backlash against Muslims are surfacing, as though it were some giant monolithic belief where all adherents believe in exactly the same thing!
 
Can you imagine the need for Catholic Bishops to come on and defend Catholicism because of somebody firebombing an abortion clinic, yet already that is what is happening with Imans and other clerical leaders of the Muslim faith in regard to this heinous act.

Give me puns over guns anyday. I have always considered people who cannot laugh at themselves, take a joke or feel the need to impose themselves all over other people as micro-brained assholes. But to each their own. I could no more be expected to change, nor would I really want to change someone's mind about their beliefs.

Never has the French National Motto seemed more appropriate:

Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité
  
 

 
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.