Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Gaylord Ponders the Light

Dear Diary,

At this time last year I was beginning preparations for my month long trip to Ireland and Scotland.  I called it my "Threshold Pilgrimage".  I was newly retired, just about to turn 65 and it seemed as if I was on a threshold of sorts.

I wrote a blog post yesterday about these border worlds, and when I took a break from it I glimpsed Gaylord out the kitchen window standing on the edge of the shadow.  Nice connection I thought.  We all hesitate, at times, to cross into a new way of being but thresholds are a part of life and we must step over.

My favorite little book, and it is in fact quite tiny, is Esther de Waal's To Pause at the Threshold - Reflections on Living on the Border...

I have become aware of the continual movement of crossing over thresholds into the new, while still of course being part of what is left behind.

And bit further on:

It (this book) is ultimately about making any place or any circumstance the threshold into the other, the new the strange, and showing the image of difference, mystery, otherness at work in God's world.

Thresholds are everywhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.