Walking on Eggshells

I seem to be getting into the idioms challenge now.  This is number 14 on the list and as we'd had eggs for lunch it was a good one to have a go at!  I developed a bad case of the wobbles trying to stand on one leg for too long...

I feel like I'm walking on eggshells very often when I'm talking to my Mom.  She gets very frightened and anxious if she thinks something out of the ordinary is going to happen - that could be as simple as me taking her out shopping or finding some clothes in her wardrobe for her to wear.  I have to think very carefully about how to tell her things, what exactly to say and when to say it.  We had an afternoon like that today as Dad had had to pop out for a time and we happened to arrive while he was out.  She was very upset, didn't know how long he had been out, what she was meant to be doing, even if she had any dinner.  We didn't really know the answers to any of those questions so we were definitely "Walking on Eggshells".

On a positive note, we've just booked tickets to go and see Nicola Bennedetti (Can't spell that!) in September and are taking my sister with me for her birthday treat.  Excited already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.