New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Stretching...

This was one of a pair of swans on the model boating lake at the Heath today.
When I arrived at the pond they were over the far side but gradually swam majestically across toward me.  They then swam along close to the edge of the pond as I was walking along the path. Perhaps they were hoping that I had some food for them?  They were foraging on the bottom of the pond and emerging with leaves which they seemed to eat.
When we reached a little inlet at the end of the pond I was treated to this glorious display.

The Heath is about 10 minutes walk away from my house and I often take it for granted that I have this wonderful open space practically on my doorstep. I'm going to try to get over there as often as I can this month as the whole landscape of the Heath and the ecosystem of the ponds is under threat from the dam project.
The last chance to save it is the Camden Council planning hearing next Thursday. However, the Council seem minded to accept the application and the City of London Corporation who own the Heath are so powerful that they can more or less do what they like.  If it does go ahead, vast swathes of the Heath will be blighted by engineering works for 2 years and at the end of it the landscape we know and love will be changed forever. Not to mention the effect it could have on the wildlife.
It's very sad. I'm hoping it will be saved at the last minute but meanwhile determining to document what we have today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.