Farm shop

Happily, the camp/pod site had a farm shop incorporating a café so we didn't have to think too hard about where we'd go for breakfast, this morning. Indeed, two minutes after leaving our little room, we were sat at a table perusing the menu. To a casual observer, it might almost have seemed that I hadn't already decided on a coffee and full English :-)

The coffee wasn't bad but the food was amazing: good ingredients (judging by the taste), freshly cooked. It set me thinking about places like this and how valuable they are. And also how they pay their taxes unlike, for example, Starbucks. So, really, going to places like this, we're getting better food, supporting small, genuine businesses, and also getting our tax dollars, too.

So, as I sat there, I resolved - just generally, not in a new yeary kind of way - that I would work a bit harder at finding places to eat and drink, other than big franchises, especially ones that I know are avoiding or evading tax. And, actually, I have made a start; if I fancy a coffee in Chorley, I always try to get to the Coffee Cow rather than going to Costa. (Although, to be fair, I think Costa are the only coffee chain that is good about paying tax.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.