HotButtered1

By HotButtered1

Close Encounter of the Stingray Kind!

Went to Hamelin Bay this afternoon because I wanted to take a late afternoon foto of the old jetty.

In typical blip fashion, what you intend to do can often take an unexpected detour.

Well, when we arrived at the Bay there was quite a large crowd of people with cameras out all standing ankle deep in the water and in front of the old jetty (people had not featured in my intended blip background).

Anyhow, it turned out to be incredibly exciting because there were about six large rays skimming along the shallows and swimming right up to peoples' ankles (not mine though as I kept thinking of Steve Irwin).

Perfect occasion for an underwater blipper but I am not one. Got as close as possible and got the clearest action shot I could get.

In the collage it shows the beautiful bay and the dark circular patches gliding through the shallows are all rays.

Hubby had a swim but I was happy with a long beach walk.

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.