Army of One, At Rest

"An army sleeps on its stomach." Didn't NAPoleon T. (for Tabbycat) Bonaparte say that? Or wait, maybe that wasn't exactly what he said. But perhaps it was something close . . .

On this particular day, it was bitterly cold outside, with intermittent snow squalls that turned blizzard-like in an instant. I had switched my day to work at home to Friday for this week, and so this was a day in which I finally got to stay in!

I usually set up my work area in the master bedroom overlooking the back yard, and Dexter provides very good company. He seized the opportunity to take a much-needed nap on a tote bag that I had brought my work files home in.

The tote bag says Army Of One; I think somebody at work gave it to me, a memento from a conference they attended. Dexter was, of course, performing typical Tabbycat quality control, which is to say, ensuring that the tote was covered in an adequate number of cat hairs, and that they were evenly distributed throughout.

And so while the winds howled outside, and the snow blew, and the cold came down bitterly and surrounded us all, the cat slept peacefully inside, in the warm comfort of home.

I wanted the tune to accompany this image to be a song about being a soldier, and this is one of my favorites. It's a sad one, so if you're not up for that, you may not want to listen. Oh, that everyone in the world could sleep in safety and comfort each night. We send warm thoughts and support to those who cannot; and we pray for peace. The song is the Dixie Chicks, with Travelin' Soldier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.