Missbettyems

By Missbettyems

Day 10: Dark

"Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light." Dumbledore, Harry Potter.

Two things occurred to me while taking this photo. One is that I definitely need to invest in some basic lighting equipment so I can do some real work with shadows. I have always been a fan of that type of photography so now that I have my prime lens, I need to give it a go...

The second thing is that it would have been almost impossible to show the darkness without any light. How could we ever appreciate the light, if we didn't know what the darkness looked like? We cannot have something without the existence of it's opposite. No good without evil, no left without right, no up without down, no love without hatred, no happiness without sadness.... It's all relative. And I kinda love that about the world, don't you?

It reminds me that no matter how chaotic life can get, there is an order and a balance to things... And whatever happens, we can always turn on the light! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.