Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Must get out more....

Since New Year, apart form going to work, I've barely left home to take any pictures. So I was at a loss of what to take pictures of. I like to collect little bits of pressed glass. A relative got me into it. At one point there were little bits all over the house so a while ago I decided to collect them all together in one place. They ended up in the little bathroom on glass shelves.

Most of the glass is clear. But I've managed to collect some cranberry glass. The red colour comes from some gold that they melt into the mix before making the glass. The green glasses are Bristol green glass so called because it was made in Bristol, but I think you could have worked that out for yourselves. Mixed in with the Victorian glass are some coloured glass sweeties that we picked up in Venice.

I don't think my little collection is valuable but there is a lot more than can be seen in this picture. But I did pick up a nice square cake stand for a couple of pounds which I saw for sale on the net for £75! I took it to Flog It when they were in Stockport. They never got to see it because they were distracted by a piece of ivory I had taken as well. It was inherited but I don't approve of ivory so it was never on show. If it wasn't such a beautiful object I might have thrown it out. It was an intricately carved card case that had been made in China. Did I want to auction it? Well I did and it made £550! I was on TV but I've never seen the recording. I'm a bit shy like that. But I know when it's been on because I get calls and texts from people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.