Like her aunts

A blissful day. Hot and almost windless. A midday high tide. Daughter C and her boys arrived for lunch and Tsuken and I then took all four children to the beach below the cliff, where (as is usual) there was no one else.

Shortly after we got there, the "jumping off rocks" showed through as the water level dropped. I told them that C and J used to jump off the rocks into the water, and they all started to jump. Soon, the game was to jump out and grab the paddle board. Miss 9 shows what I mean.

This morning I was up in time to get a photo (or more) of the sunrise. Around the point to the vast expanse of mudflat at Snells Beach, and I saw a few kuaka (godwits) and a  Tuturiwhatu (New Zealand Dotterel). I am now at 26 different species seen and photographed this year.

Later addition:
I have put some photos into blipfolio, all were taken on my run on the beach this morning
The sunrise
A heron feeding
A tuturiwhatu (NZ Dotterel)
A close look at a kuaka (godwit)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.