peterdawson

By peterdawson28

The imperative to reproduce

This giant African land snail had obviously fallen from wall onto the concrete path knocking a large chunk out of her shell in the process. By the time I found her she appeared to be all but dead but to my amazement she still pushed out a couple more of her unnaturally yellow looking eggs. This was something I'd never seen before and haven't seen since - I assume that the eggs are normally laid in sheltered places to ensure the maximum number survive. To give an idea of scale this snails shell was roughly 15cm long - they're not called giant land snails without reason and are possessed of voracious appetites as I found out when a single specimen devoured almost all my potted herbs in the course of one night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.