Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... What's that?

I don't often get to see barn swallows because ... well, we don't have a barn! However, my friend at the Good Hand Farm has a barn and LOTS of barn (and tree) swallows, so off I went today, toting Big Daddy. It was a gloriously beautiful afternoon - perfect for a wander around the farm and back to the river. Along the way, I saw two Baltimore Orioles, way across the field and up high in a tree. Fully zoomed and cropped to the max. And here is another view of the barn swallow, perched above his nest. When I ventured too close, both parents buzzed me, so I respectfully withdrew.

I also saw a yearling female tree swallow - she's brown rather than the deep blue of the mature swallows. Actually, I had to come home and look her up because the color threw me. She was tending a nest box, so think she is probably raising her first brood.

And, just for fun, I took a picture of an old fencepost with a bit of barbed wire attached!

Because the day was so nice, after I left the Farm, I headed to Kittatinny Valley Park for a walk along one of my favorite trails. Where I saw my first EVER Belted Kingfisher! If my field guide is accurate, this one is a female. Not a great picture since I was, once again, a long ways away and had to blow up and crop the image way more than I'd usually like.

Thanks for all the comments on my diligent little chickadee - thanks to you, he made it to the Spotlight page!

Hoping everyone is have a marvy Friday! Happy blipday to QuirkyGirl !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.