Grimsayer

By Grimsayer

Bar-tailed Godwit

Another day when leaving the house was itself a bit of an epic. Leave it however I did to see if I could find a flock of gulls to admire. Failed on that but did find a flock of these godwits on the shore on North Bay, South Uist.
Although slightly dumpty compared to the Black-tailed Godwit, these are still always worth a look. Ridiculously brick red in summer, at this time of year they are more subtle but blend well with the greys of another windy and wet day on the Hebrides.
With an Iceland Gull and two Snow Buntings nearby the ornithological highlights continue the wintery theme of the last few days.
My main reason for leaving the house however was to buy a newspaper, something I was sadly denied yesterday. Calmac however have denied me again today with no ferries sailing. No wonder that the locals have begun calling the Finlaggan, the relief ferry,  the Bin Wagon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.