Allons-y! fiber arts

By Bethanne

Oxen Math

I am honored and delighted to be the farm photographer this summer at Cerridwen Farm, Green Mountain College, Poultney, Vermont. If it had not been for Blip and taking a photo a day, I might not have been so quick to find this wonderful place let alone become involved in the goings on and have the good fortune to start to get to know the students and staff. I have changed the name of this journal to reflect the summer and the events seen.

Today one of the staff (who just graduated from Green Mountain) was working in the field with Lou and Bill, the oxen. Ben had asked me to check out his being in the field as a photo opportunity which I could not resist. Here Ben is doing oxen math! I am not sure I fully grasp this yet so I may have to ask Ben to explain it again 2 or 30 more times. If you notice that there is a bubble wrapped package on the seat of the plow. That is a GPS! Attached to the chain is a measure that tells the force at which Bill and Lou are pulling which is somehow figured in with the speed to figure out what speed, pounds of pressure etc needed for the type of job. This info can then be used to figure out other jobs with different equipment.

Sorry that is not more detailed info - I shall work on that. My math skills are rusty at best! It's up there with map reading I think. These are skills that I so admire but they are not my forte! Who knew this would be an education in farming as well as an opportunity to get wonderful shots. By the way - I did drool over the vegetable gardens and am happy to see Russian kale in the mix and I do hope that lands in the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) of which I will be getting a full share this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.