Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Simplify

My watchword for 2015 is "simplify". I'm conscious that I seem to spend most of my waking hours connected to gadgets of one sort or another and that can't be good for you. I realised over the Xmas break that I've lost the ability to lose myself in a book, as I'm so easily distracted! Less multitasking, more focus required.

So over the weekend I did two things: I had a massive clearout of my office, which was starting to resemble a particularly dishevelled second-hand camera shop, and I resolved to spend less time online, starting with deleting all my social media apps from my phone. Now my plan is to go online when I need to, rather than just because it's there...

Tidying up the office I found this photo from the mid 90s, a holiday in Tunisia. It's one of the very few pre-photography-studies pictures of mine that I consider to be more than a snapshot. And it seems to embody my "simplify" resolution quite well, so I stuck it to the wall next to my desk...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.