Gloucester Docks

There's a lot more to the docks than this photo. To the right there is a marina full of yachts, motor launches, narrow boats (I always get that wrong and call them 'Long Boats', must be the Viking in me!).
Picked this out the few I took because of the atmospheric old buildings, the light and the unusual boat at the front, I think it might be an old lifeboat.

I was walking through the docks because I'd taken the Shadow in to get the carb sorted. Could have tried to do it myself but didn't want to mess it up! I got the bus back home this morning and back to town late afternoon. This involves walking about a mile and a bit from the bus station, across town to the Gloucester Quays and across the canal and past the new Sainsburys' and Gloucester Uni campus. It's a good walk and it takes you through the docks which is a bonus.

When I picked the bike up it really felt like a different bike, I hadn't realised how sluggish it was, just noticed the stuttering and surging. The service manager told me that when they got the carbs off and stripped they were green inside because of the old fuel that had been sat in there for the 3 years before I bought it. Took them 3 hours just to get all of the varnish and green corrosion sorted. 
It certainly paid off, Bike goes like a rocket now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.