Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Aw shoot!

The bath plughole has been making some funny gurgling noises every time the loo is flushed.  I know what the problem is but I have kept hoping it would go away.  Of course, it hasn't.  Last night the kitchen sink emptied very slowly then stopped with an inch still in the bottom.  Aw shoot!  

Living in the countryside is a wonderful thing except we have to rely on a septic tank.  Normally everything behaves as it should, it fills, bio-degrades the 'stuff' and the liquid runs off into a gravel bed as 95% clean water.  Every couple of years a man in a sludge gulper comes along.  I throw ridiculous amounts of money at him (£300+) and he empties the tank.  He's due again soon.  

I used to phone the man with the rods when this blockage happened but he has become so expensive (about £180 a plop pop) that I have taken to a bit of DIY.  I didn't want to do this today, I was going to Newcastle, nice bit of lunch and a stroll around on the first decent day for a couple of weeks.  All plans are cancelled.  Here I am earlier this morning up to my ankles in god knows what, trying not to inhale.  It's a big job but I'm finished.

The culprit was a wet wipe or two.  Now with so many visitors over Christmas and New Year it's hard to pin point who did what and what with and rather awkward to ask so I just have to get on with it.  (I have my suspicions).  

Fashion notes…  The left hand glove is actually a right hand glove so I'm wearing it back to front.  I think it makes me look a bit 'experty'.  

Technical Details…  Here you see the eleventh and twelfth rods going down the tube, there are 30 metres to rod.  Top tip - Sometimes they stick and I find shouting "C'mon you @*&^ing *&?*&"  helps to release them.  (Also cheaper than dynorod).

Health and safety Note…   Do not lick your fingers unless you are sure it is safe to do so.  

And finally…  Yes, what I'm covered in IS exactly what you think it is.  So there's my Blip for today.  Now what's for lunch I wonder?  Must remember to wash my hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.