The Way I See Things

By JDO

Meon Hill

It was another horrible wet morning in the Shire; but I had errands to run in Stratford and two different weather apps told me that it was fine and sunny there. They lied.

Luckily, a snap decision to meander home along the Warwickshire/Gloucestershire border paid off, because as I turned down towards the Quintons the sky cleared. I was keeping one eye on Meon Hill with half a thought to climbing it, but when I stopped in a field gateway just outside Lower Quinton to take this shot, I looked at the state of the ground and decided the light walking shoes I was wearing were not up to the task!

Instead I went down to Mickleton and drove up Granbrook Lane, which crosses the depression between Meon and Ebrington Hills, then circled round and down Coleman's Hill past Hidcote Manor and Kiftsgate Court. I intend to explore this area more in the summer, but if I decide to go up Meon Hill at night I think I'll take freespiral's advice and take a minder with me. Meon Hill is a fascinating but slightly spooky place, with a rather sinister reputation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.