Acquainted with the Night

It has been a very grey day and one on which I felt unmotivated to get the camera out. A day for writing notes on academic books. A day for climbing up a ladder and trying to figure out how rain is managing to creep between the tiles and soaking into the plasterwork. A day for cooking supper and feeding cats.
But then I wanted to find something or other to Blip. I am seeking to be a little more consistent even on the days where inspiration is a little fallow.  A thought came to mind, possibly inspired in part by fellow blipper David's (dvdlodi) journal entry yesterday of a shop a night. I went outside with my ipad and stood in the dark, looking at the house. It is a curious outsider sort of an experience. There's life in there, there's light; and I am out here in the dark, in silence, observing.
This then put me in mind of a favourite poem by Robert Frost.

Acquainted with the Night

I have been one acquainted with the night.
I have walked out in rain - and back in rain.
I have outwalked the furthest city light.

I have looked down the saddest city lane.
I have passed by the watchman on his beat
And dropped my eyes, unwilling to explain.

I have stood still and stopped the sound of feet
When far away an interrupted cry
Came over houses from another street.

But not to call me back or say good-bye;
And further still at an unearthly height
One luminary clock against the sky

Proclaimed the time was neither wrong nor right.
I have been one acquainted with the night.

Robert Frost

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.