Rummaging around

I've eventually cashed in a voucher I was given by a friend when I retired on 'Independence Day' last September. After a detailed description by the guy in the shop about their range of whiskies available I was none the wiser, but eventually plumped for a bottle of Longrow peated single malt from Campbeltown. It is distilled by J&A Mitchell, Scotland's oldest (legal) distilling family. Their distillery was opened in 1828 on the site of the illicit distillery run by Archibald Mitchell. At least they kept it in the family.

The salesman didn't want his photograph taken, but did offer the use of his dog as a potential subject instead. I declined, so what you see here are cask strength spirits on sale in the shop, sold straight from the barrel. To be treated with the utmost respect when drinking, especially at those prices.

I'm not an expert in the whiskies of Scotland so my decision was taken in part by the fact that my great grandfather lived in Campbeltown and worked in a distillery there in the late 19th century. Seemed a good enough reason to me for buying it as any other. You can tell I'm not an expert.

Song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.