Smiling

Another funeral today - they seem to be coming thick & fast.
Joe was my Granddad's neighbour & best pal for the last twenty years, his fast smile and cheeky jokes were a fixture at our family gatherings - he really was someone for whom the word gentleman was designed.
With no members of the family able to make it to the funeral It somehow just niggled at me & seemed wrong - so a quick bit of diary management, and it was off down to Lytham again.
Speaking to his daughters - the youngest told me that since his passing they'd (obviously) discussed him much - and neither of them could remember him not smiling. I don't think they were hugely aware of the poignancy of that comment to me; in the front of this Blip from November you can just make out the words we put on Mum's grave here

Thinking about it - I know that's how I'll always remember Joe, and its how I really really want to remember Mum - and it would not be a bad way to be remembered at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.