Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Splash

All seemed well, a little raucous perhaps in the bath time department, actually come to think of it, there was wrestling in the living room, chasing around the kitchen island and unlimited energy from lack of eating that came from I don't know where.

And then Reuben, out of sight, decided to pick up a basin and sled down the staircase.

And he fell down the stairs. 


Bloody hearing aid site and a bump on the head. His crying was the hardest part and that made me cry whilst we hugged. And me crying made him cry all the more he sat with a quivering chin, the one where the tension alone hurts. And then Callum started crying and the three of us were huddled and Reuben was holding on dearly to Callum. Callum heroically rushed around getting pain meds from high up cabinets. On the second try he brought the right med, each time I could see him running around with the step stool in hand, up and down the stairs.


Reuben has a high tolerance to pain so it must have hurt badly on many levels, the shock too. Brings me back to tougher days being on the point of calling an ambulance. The biggest fear is his spinal fusions in his neck making his neck quite dangerously brittle. That and under unconsciousness, he would lose his airway. It is frightening. I can easily forget when he's hurtling (ok gliding) down the ski slopes that he has no balance, because he shares my sense of adventure, living for the now. But. Deep breathe and moving on today...So grateful he's ok. And God I love my boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.