The Southern Sound with Sun and Ice

After a slightly late lunch, around 2 o’clock, I walked to the end of the jetty where all the boats are moored in summer.
The sun was rolling along the horizon getting ready to set in 42 minutes but still shining brightly.
In the foreground is the new ice. This (snow free) ice must have formed after yesterday evening’s snowfall.  There are small patches of open water steaming in the cold (-12°C) air. A little further back is older, snow covered ice.  The two poles in the foreground mark the deeper channel for boats heading into the town, but not in winter...
I must admit I was an hour late back to work because it was so beautiful out here it was hard to leave. In the end the cold got to me and forced me back to town.
It turned out that as I was busily photographing the south sound Jan was looking up the north sound and blipping that.
If you want (10) more pictures of the snowy town and the ice and light on the sound, check out my flickr grouping for the day.
I see from Blipfoto there's snow in Britain too - welcome to the club!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.