Flashback

Early start to get over to Glasgow through snow flurries (although hardly worthy of the over the top weather warnings!) and nipped into a shop to buy a birthday card for a friend. Stopped in my tracks by this little horse - I have a photo of myself at nursery school on exactly this horse and I was taken straight back there in my head!
After my Glasgow meeting it was back to the office for another blur of meetings then home after a jolly catch up with Arclight. C came round so I could sign off her passport forms -seems ages since we had a chance to meet up and chat.
The horse had got me thinking and I decided I needed to find the photo from nursery. Spent ages looking for it but no luck-but I amused myself looking through all my old school reports...goodness me they used to be more direct in their advice giving than nowadays! So, this was apparently me aged 11:
"A good leader who always contributes in oral lessons" (ie bossy and chatty!) "excellent progress in all subjects except Number" (ie can't add up) "she must show more determination and make an effort to think clearly and logically" (ie scatter brained). And the summary of my primary school career? "A very capable girl. If she would set out to enjoy life and realise we all make mistakes and these mistakes do not matter, she would do even better". This seems rich coming from a headteacher who I only remember for his reign of terror in the school and a liberal use of the slipper to adminster his corporal punishment regime....mistakes certainly DID matter to him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.