The Twins

Today I painted. I regularly paint on Wednesdays at the Trish Harding School of Art at Studio UFO. Trish offers open studios on Wednesdays and Thursdays and I'm part of the Wednesday group. These are some of the same ladies in my book group. We paint together and do critiques of each other's work. Trish teaches as needed. Today she helped me a great deal as I worked on this portrait.

A couple of months ago Trish offered a portrait class with a live model. I was one of only three who signed up. Trish held the class even though it wasn't great for her financially. And we all had a great time and worked on some great paintings of a model named Mary. Trish liked them so much she decided to get a few more models to come to pose and to have a show this coming March at the first Friday art walk. So the project was born.

We painted her husband Tom as he played his guitar and a local senior activist and poet as he read his poetry to us. Monday we had our last sitting, or lying down actually. Two lovely young twins in their late twenties came and talked about themselves first so we'd have some idea who they were. Then they posed by lying down on a blanket and arraying their wonderful flowing blond hair around them. I got the general composition figured out but needed help with the structure of the faces.

Today in open studio Trish helped me a great deal to get the faces. I worked most on the gal on the left and I'm very happy with that face. I improved the gal on the right but have more to do. I like the composition because to me it expresses their vibrant personalities. I have much more to do but I like what I have so far. I'll blip the painting as I continue to work on it.

Again, thank you all for commenting and giving stars and hearts to my eagle photo yesterday. I have to admit that I really like that photo so I'm delighted that many of you do too. Thank you so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.