Life with Alice

By elirin

The Pine Cone

Any given day, there are a thousand and one different, interesting and multi-dimensional scents to investigate on the average morning walk. Every dog knows that. When I was little, I sometimes sniffed around to find the best available pine cone, and then carried it for a while with the intention to bring it home. But, in the manner of puppies, I dropped it when something else caught my attention, and mum usually picked it up and carried it home for me. I haven't done that for some time now.

Today, I carefully chose a perfect pine cone as far away from home as we get. I then carried it all the way home, despite meeting a chihuahua we know and some other major distractions. Mum was impressed by my determination.

That is the essence of an ordinary day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.