Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

"Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red"

One of the 888,246 ceramic poppies made for the art installation "Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red" by Paul Cummins, on display at the Tower of London between 5 August - 11 November 2014.  

The installation commemorated the centenary of the start of the First World War. 

Very special to see this unique piece. We were out for dinner with friends this evening, and they had received this as a Christmas gift, following a visit to London in November.  It is smaller than I expected.

I regret not knowing about the project in time to order one, as it would have been a fitting tribute to my Great Uncle who died in the First World War. He is remembered on a memorial in Arras, Northern France. I recently found the telegram with the tragic news of his death amongst my Mum's papers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.