Spirit of Architecture

Bit overcast in London today, but I headed out to Greenwich to visit the newly re-opened Cutty Sark. After negotiating the buses, tube and DLR, I walked under the Thames through the tunnel to get to Greenwich.

Cutty Sark; I love this clipper, she's got lovely lines, a fine pedigree, survived against the odds and was built in Scotland! All things to recommend her in my opinion.

I'm not at all impressed by what they've done around her, however! She's been raised up, allowing the public to walk under her hull, which is impressive BUT the glass ceiling surrounding her completely obscures her beautiful lines from ground level - it's such a shame. She looks like she's foundering in a glass marshmallow. I wasn't desperately impressed with the displays either - for my money the team at the S.S Great Britain have done a far better job with the displays, and of showing off their ship. Having said all that, I still think Cutty Sark is worth visiting.

After Cutty Sark I visited the Old Naval College (formerly the Greenwich Hospital) and the Maritime Museum. The museum had an interesting exhibition on the WWII Arctic Convoys that I've been wanting to see. I had a fantastic day and ticked off a few more things from my London list.

Spirit of Architecture holds up Wren's plan for the Greenwich Hospital. Detail from the ceiling of the Painted Hall at Greenwich by James Thornhill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.