hello : )

By 1DayataTime

heart healthy challenge: day 2 of 32

Today's workout came so incredibly close to not happening at all.

By 8:30am I had fallen on the pavement in a grand fashion. Upon tripping on the sidewalk, my coffee and ice water went flying forward along with my camera that had been hanging around my neck. It was a big splat of a scene. My left knee received most of my weight and as a result was in a lot of pain. 

A passerby asked if I needed help getting up (thank you kind stranger), but what I needed most was to stay still for a few seconds and let the sharpness of the pain hopefully pass. The pain subsided a bit and as I got up I surveyed the area. 

The coffee flew out of the cup and landed partly on my sweater, but mostly on the ground. Water along with snow and dirt mixed in with the coffee on my sweater resulting in a beautiful mess of a design! My pants and winter jacket were slightly messed up, but I was able to brush off the dirt, snow, etc. The sweater was no longer wearable. Fortunately today was relatively warmer than previous days.

My camera, oh, now that was the most distressing bit of the tumble. The camera had crashed on the ground and I feared that it was broken. I reluctantly picked it up not really wanting to assess the damage. I brushed off the snow, dirt, water and so far it appears that the only thing not working is the built-in flash. I have never used that flash, so I count myself very lucky!

Back to Starbucks (a habit I'm trying to break) I went to order another coffee and pick up another ice water. Well, they kindly gave me a complimentary coffee and ice water : )

On to work I drove fearing that my fall was just the beginning of a very bad day. My boss and I were scheduled to review my performance evaluation and I have had a difficult time reading her, so I did not know what to expect. I am so very pleased to share that the review went very well! I'm 6 months into this new job and things are getting better as time goes by. 

I was able to walk all day, but when I touched my left knee it was very painful. I still thought I would workout after work. However I somehow ended up back at my apartment on the couch watching tv!? As more time passed it became very clear that I was simply going to use the excuse of my injured knee as the reason why I didn't exercise today.

However, as I was watching a tv show that is typically a waste of time, there was a segment about a woman who was in a bad car accident and her challenges in trying to walk again. It didn't take long for me to look at myself and say what the hell am I doing on this couch?

Off to the gym I went to workout shortly after 7:30pm. And yes, I biked for a 1/2 hour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.