Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Turning

and vanishing. I waited for traffic to come along . . . I took your advice Wil and stopped down though the lights here are not so bright.  Full version.  I'd just been to Western Drug to pick up a prescription. This is Springerville's one light.

     Browsing blips. I thought of memory again and how taking photographs may degrade the memory of an event. I've mentioned this briefly in a previous blip but another Blip trick we've seem to have lost is being able to search our own journals (unless I'm missing something again).

     We often lament missing a shot of something we would like to remember.  I have a good memory of the shots I missed or the circumstances of witnessing something when I didn't have a camera available. I remember not just the missed moment but what I was thinking and feeling in the moments before and after. Such moments include savouring the scent of apple blossom on a warm summer day - a moment of calm after making love with my wife. The drama of seeing a hawk capture a rattle snake. And just the other day not being quick enough to snap a buck leaping a fence.

Right waffle done. On the radio iPlayertoday - In Our Time discussing Bruegel's The Fight Between Carnival and Lent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.