The Great Monarch Project

Part 5 or 6 (not quite sure which):  The chrysalis

I was privileged this morning to be able to watch the metamorphosis of the caterpillar into this pupa.  Oh, how I wished I had my camera with me - I would have made a movie of it.  It only took about two or three minutes, and was simply awesome to watch.  I am certain there have been other pupae around the place, but I haven't been able to find them.  so I feel doubly blessed that this little chappy/chappess chose to transform in a place where he/she can easily be seen.

When I moved away, I saw a wonderful monarch flying lazily overhead, and who's to say it wasn't one of my babies hatched out and on its first flight.

Have a look at this in large, and you can see the venation of the wings already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.