Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

I need to use this more often

This is my digital camera. I rarely ever use it.

Instead, I use my phone because it's much easier to access when there's something I want to photograph that may not last long.

My digital camera is much higher quality than my phone. But I think I'm complacent with using my phone because it has better quality than my first digital camera, which was a Pentax Optio A10 that I got in late 2006.

I'm gonna try to make more of an effort to use my digital camera more often.

Hell, I'd still love to use my Optio A10 if I can find a cgarger for it. Even though the focus was damaged a couple years ago, it has a significant sentimental value to me. The only reason I even got my Nikon was because the charging dock got lost and I was having trouble finding a replacement for a reasonable price.

Tonight I took my laptop apart because my SD drive wasn't working. I needed to clean out all the dust inside anyways, but my main concern was my SD drive.

Well, it was filthy and after about thirty minutes cleaning out the SD drive alone, I was very hopeful that it would work. (I also cleaned out the USB ports because they were attached to the SD drive and they're working properly again!)

Luckily I was able to reassemble everything and my SD drive works again!

I'm trying to salvage photos from early 2011 through late 2013 off the SD card of my first smart phone. The battery pillowed inside and damaged the phone's already lagging functionality.

Luckily B and I had the same model phone (and we both upgraded to the same phones, too, Note IIs.) so I was able to swipe the battery from his old Droid X (with his permission) in order to try to get images off my phone.

Well, the phone wasn't uploading properly and the images weren't loading well on the phone itself, so I had nabbed the microSD adapter from the SD card for my camera so I could try to use my computer to retrieve my photos.

Over a thousand aren't loading properly, but several hundred others are appearing to load alright. I'm currently dumping them all into my paid imgur account because despite it's hostile environment as far as a social sharing site, it is a very good place to host images.

Right now it's uploading the ones that were loading properly. Then I'm gonna try small batches of the ones that aren't loading properly. Seeing if it's just an inability to load the thumbnails. If that doesn't work, I have a card recovery software that I had to use when B mysteriously managed to delete everything off my digital camera (seen in this blip) without even trying to. I never recovered all of the photos from it, but the ones I cared about most were recovered.

So hopefully I'll have as good if not better results with trying to get the information off the microSD card from my Droid X.

Please wish me luck my photo loving friends!

If I'm successful there will be an ungodly amount of back blipping being done. (I'm already planning on back blipping a lot from my Note II, which I've had for a little over a year.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.