My Year

By Dunworkin

New Watch

Bought myself a new watch today. It's a solar powered Citizen Ecodrive. Apparently it will never need a new battery. Time will tell.

The reason I bought it is a tale on it's own, and restores my faith in human incompetence. Two local jewellers said they couldn't get a battery for my old watch, so I found one on Ebay, took it in to be fitted, only to be told the watch wouldn't go with the new battery.

Now, I'm not sure whether this was genuine or not, but they did show it to me and it wasn't working, so I decided I have a new one.

Having got the old one home I thought I'd have a look myself, took the back off, whereupon close inspection showed a restart button, and b****r me when pressed the watch started.

Back I went to the jeweller, who swore he'd tried the restart and it wouldn't go.

Anyway, I liked the new watch so decided to keep it and now have a work watch and a going out watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.