PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Waiting...

The Kid, lit by her 3DS, while we wait for Rachel to arrive at the train station.

New toy arrived today. A Fujifilm x20. They've dipped in price drastically with the launch of the x30.

Many moons ago, I had a lovely little camera called a Minox 35GT. It was a beautiful, small, clever, discrete 35mm camera with a trapdoor lens. It went with me everywhere, and provided me with a huge amount of pleasure and no small number of good photographs.

Since digital became a thing, I've jumped on every small "pro" compact I could get my hands on, thinking it would be my new Minox. Nothing has ever come close.

I've not had long to try it out, just a few shots in low light, but already I feel this could finally be the one. It's nowhere near as small, but the handling, the OVF, that image quality. It all feels lovely.

I've heard a lot about the quality of the jpegs straight out of the camera, and the wonderful fujifilm presets that you can apply to them automagically.

So far, all I've heard is true. This image is almost straight out of camera, jpeg, very little tweaking. I could use raw, but want to test the jpegs first. Handheld at low shutter speed, it's a little blurred, but not bad for blip purposes.

I'll not have a chance to test it properly for a few days, but it will likely replace my k3 for day to day recording. I don't like using the k3 outside of pro or fine art work now as that thing is my livelihood. I drop it, and it's career over.

So, this could be my main blipper. I'm liking it so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.